Go to the Oddmusic Homepage
Next >>
  Visit todays Most Popular Gallery Page

The Chrysalis is one of seven instruments that comprise the musical core of The Chrysalis Foundation, a 501(c)3 nonprofit arts and education organization established in 1982. The Foundation encourages the creation of new acoustic musical instruments, and supports compositions and performances for these instruments. It is accomplishing these goals through the work of master builder, composer, and writer Cris Forster, whose original acoustic instruments are designed to explore new tunings in just intonation. By recognizing the art of tuning as a variable rather than a constant, music can once again become a vital force capable of expressing and addressing the complexities of our modern minds and spirits.
visit the official site at: www.chrysalis-foundation.org

Invented and built by Cris Forster, the Chrysalis was his first concert-sized instrument. The instrument's design was inspired by a huge, round, stone-hewn Aztec calendar.

Cris thought to himself, "What if there were a musical instrument in the shape of a wheel? And what if this wheel had strings for spokes, could spin, and when played, would sound like the wind?" Thus, the basic idea of the Chrysalis was born.

Built in 1975-76, the Chrysalis has two sides, or two circular soundboards, and 82 strings on each side. The wheel, which sits on the crest of a wave-like stand, may be freely spun in either direction.
Listen to a sample of the Chrysalis

From 1991-2001, Cris wrote the 1300 page book Musical Mathematics: A Practice in the Mathematics of Tuning Instruments and Analyzing Scales.

It is both a masterful historic document and a sound scientific document, from which generations of musicians and instrument makers can continue to draw sustenance and gain deep insight. Above all, it constitutes a bridge between the realms of Art and Science.

Oddmusic is proud to present a mini-gallery of instruments from The Chrysalis Foundation in our Featured Sections area.


Copyright Oddmusic © 1999-2008